Universal Access To All Knowledge
Home Donate | Store | Blog | FAQ | Jobs | Volunteer Positions | Contact | Bios | Forums | Projects | Terms, Privacy, & Copyright
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload

Reply to this post | See parent post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: Ole Uncle John Date: Mar 30, 2005 10:20am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Interesting topic. Of course if we censor/remove "reviews" that we determine rude, or personal attacks or rebound, shouldn't we also censor/remove all the "stories" and other postings that aren't really "reviews" as well?
And as for the unreliable ratings that's why I always stream a few songs before I download the whole show to check for myself quality issues. (by the way don't use the first couple songs of a show for this since the sound usually has problems in the beginning).

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffBrad Leblanc Date: Mar 30, 2005 10:42am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

I think you hit the nail on the head sir. :)

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: TimePilot Date: Mar 30, 2005 11:26am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

So Brad, can you clarify this:

You deleted the review slandering an archive artist (yea), yet buy agreeing to the above post, are you saying that an 'audit' deleting false reviews should be made every so often, or are you saying that I or someone else sould not draw your attention to these kinds of reviews like we saw today with this Phil show?

Again, I am just trying to clarify your intentions....
Thanks!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffBrad Leblanc Date: Mar 30, 2005 7:55pm
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

I deleted 1 review yesterday which was nothing but a pissed off response to the original post by Smokey calling him lots of (very vulgar) names. Like I mention below - attacks on other patrons will be censored. I don't think I got there in time to see Smokey's post, someone else deleted it.

What I am agreeing to is that if we delete Smokey's reviews for the reason "they don't pertain to the performance or recording", then the case is easily made that we should go through and delete many, many other less offensive posts for the same reason. This is a very slippery slope that we are not comfortable with - the last thing we want to have to do is write up and publish a document explaining what an "acceptable review" should contain...

Those "stories" are considered annoying by some of you, but they do offer a snapshot of the scene and the people who went for younger fans that have never been to a GD performance. IMO they are harmless and someone out there benefits from reading them (and probably chuckles).

Like Diana says, put error reports on them, explain why they should be removed in your opinion, and we will review and respond to them 1 by 1.

-Brad

This post was modified by Brad Leblanc on 2005-03-31 03:55:57

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffDiana Hamilton Date: Mar 30, 2005 8:38pm
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

put error reports on them, explain why they should be removed in your opinion, and we will review and respond to them 1 by 1.

You're holding out the possibility of just removals. Something to think about: Could users suggest selective/editing moderation on certain reviews? Tough judgment area for mods (and time-consuming), but some nastier ad-hominems could be removed from otherwise "real" reviews that way.

This post was modified by Diana Hamilton on 2005-03-31 04:38:59

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffBrad Leblanc Date: Mar 30, 2005 10:05pm
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Very true, good point Diana - if there is some substance to them, it's a possibility that it could be "cleaned up".

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: TimePilot Date: Mar 30, 2005 10:45pm
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Thank you all so much for your posts on this topic. I hope you are OK with the fact I brought this to the Forum in the first place. I just felt the 2-12-05 Phil show was particularly out of hand, but will use error reporting from now on.

Thanks again to you both...

Marty

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffDiana Hamilton Date: Mar 30, 2005 11:12pm
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Given the sudden ascendancy of the issue in general, it seems worth it to have brought up here, thanks!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Rivertrance Date: Mar 31, 2005 12:51am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: Ugly/Rebound Phil Reviews

Thanks for bringing it up, Marty...was feeling the same way but didn't know if I should say anything...and again, thanks to all at this wonderful site who make it happen....peace

Roy